Don’t Wait For Tomorrow

Two years ago today I was going about my life, working on a paper or project for Grad School, arguing with my estranged husband/best friend about whether or not we were going to hang out that day.  These were two things that early that day were driving me crazy and seemed so important.  Then just before 6:30 that night (after I had basically said screw you to the ex) I got a call that will forever be burned into my brain and that changed my life.  My Mama was calling because my Daddy had died.  This was completely unexpected and changed me in so many ways.  I was 1,000 miles away from my family and at that point had few strong relationships where I was living.  I called my estranged husband, the one that I had basically said screw you to earlier in the day, and he rushed to my side.

My Daddy’s death changed me in many ways but the #1 thing I learned from my Daddy’s death is that none of us are guaranteed another day, another chance to say I am sorry or I love you.  I learned that what is important to me is the people that I know will drop everything in a moments notice when I need them regardless of what may have been said or done prior.  I try my hardest not to let the petty things get in the way of my relationships today.  I wish that I had one more day of fishing with Daddy, one more chance to tell him how much I love him.  Since I don’t get that chance I try to honor him by making sure that those that are still here with me always know just how much I love and care for them.

I hope that you will all take the time today to hug the ones you love and tell them how you feel about them.

DSCI0128

Standard

Leave a Reply

