Weekend Update

I had a great weekend this week!  Today I’m linking up with Tara at Running N Reading today.  If you haven’t already you should check out her great blog!  She is such an inspiration and great motivator!

So on Friday I finished up work by 4  and hit the gym for a cross training day.  I decided to do 30 minutes on the elliptical and 30 on the bike.  Can I just say that I REALLY hate the elliptical!  But last week I managed to do 30 minutes on both of my cross training days!  After the gym I did some fun shopping.  I planned a board game competition for my niece, nephew and anyone who wanted to join us.  So Friday after the gym I went to the dollar store next door and bought some black face paint for “war paint” and some silly string.  While I was there I thought it would be a great idea to get a trophy for the championship.  That was a great idea but it was harder to find a generic trophy than I expected!  Luckily after going to 4 other stores I found one at Party City!  So after driving all over town looking for a trophy I headed home and was just about to go to bed when I got a call from my Aunt letting me know that she and my cousin’s wife and kids were in town!  So since I was going to be out of town for game day the next day I drove over to their hotel for a little catch up session.

Saturday I woke up and headed to Mississippi to see my niece cheer at her teams football game and then on to game day!  So my family is very competitive.  In my family we do not just let kids win games.  My nephew and I were engaged in some serious trash talk the week leading up to the championship.  The main game that my nephew and I were concerned about was Monopoly.  He was sure that he would beat me!  We decided that since Monopoly can take hours it might be the only game of the day but that if we were able to finish it early in the day then the champion would be the person who one the most games.  Well I won Monopoly!  It came down to my nephew and I, just as expected!  Here is the run down of the games…

Monopoly: Stephanie

Twister: Angela (my sister)

Clue: Angela

Jenga: Tristin (my niece)

Beyond Balderdash: Angela

So yeah an adult won the trophy!  My poor nephew didn’t win any of the games!  But I somehow managed to get the elusive picture of my nephew!  Though his face is covered by his Goofy hat! 🙂

IMG_1128

Tristin getting her cheer on!

IMG_1138

War paint on!

IMG_1139

The silly string was supposed to be for the end of the championship!

My niece and nephew decided to get me with it before we started! 🙂

IMG_1140

IMG_1143

My main man Gavin!

IMG_1146

Mega Monopoly Champion!!!

IMG_1160

2014 Game Day Champ!

Sunday I had to work my shift at the hospital and it was a crazy day!  So after a very stressful day I headed home and caught up on the last few episodes of last season’s Parenthood and watched the season premier that aired earlier this week.  Then watched the Saints/Cowboys game.  My boys did not play a good game so at half time I went to the gym for my run.  I figured I could run my frustrations out during the 2nd half.  Another positive of watching at the gym is that I was able to watch the game and the season premier of Revenge at the same time! 🙂  My boys may have lost but I still love them!  I hope you all have a great week!!!!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. Stephanie, I was thinking about you last night! Now, I have to admit that I was definitely excited about the Cowboys (they are my team) because we don’t usually play that well, but I was sad that they had to choose your team to beat up on – ha! 😉 I’m so glad you had such fun with your family this weekend! Thank you for linking up again this week, and I hope you have a good day!

    Like

    • I was actually telling my mom after the game last night that as much as I hated it the Cowboys were looking like the old 90’s Cowboys last night! Happy for your win I just hate that it was at our expense! But having a 1-3 season is making tickets for the game I want to go to cheaper and cheaper 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

