Clean Eating Update

I usually do my grocery shopping on Thursday so that is when I set up my clean eating.  I bought enough fruit and greens to make enough smoothies for a week and have some fruit left to snack on and spinach left for salads.  I stuck to the shopping list that I decided on earlier in the week and did not buy any extras.  For $101.13 I got enough meat to last me (I am a single woman after all!) about a month, dried goods that will likely last me a month and fruit for 1-2 weeks.  I would say that is pretty good!!!

When I got home from the grocery store I decided to make my smoothies for the next week and freeze them.  I decided to do this mainly because I had bought raspberries and I didn’t want them to go bad before I could use them!  I really hate buying raspberries only to have them go bad before I could eat them!  So I made 3 different types of smoothies: A strawberry and raspberry green smoothie, and raspberry and blueberry green smoothie, and a strawberry banana green smoothie.  They all tasted great and I can’t wait to drink them all!!!

 IMG_0841

Before smoothies

IMG_0843

After= So much yumminess!!!

Due to a busy weekend that left me with a hangover on Saturday I did not actually start eating clean until Sunday evening.  But man was my Sunday dinner delicious!  I made parmesan crusted tilapia with some sautéed asparagus. 

IMG_0866

The recipe for the tilapia is as follows: 

1 pound of Tilapia (I just went with two fillets since it is just me and that also gave me lunch for Monday!)

1 cup parmesan

1 tablespoon paprika

1 tablespoon thyme

salt 

pepper

Mix all of the dry ingredients in small pan.  Pat the tilapia dry and dredge through the parmesan mixture. Place tilapia on a baking sheet and bake at 400* for 12 minutes.  

Let me tell you this was too yummy for words!

IMG_0874

Clean Eating Dinner #2 Bell peppers, onion, garlic, and chicken over brown rice

3-4 chicken tenders

1 Green Bell Pepper

1 Red Bell Pepper

1 Yellow Bell Pepper

1 Orange Bell Pepper

1 medium Onion

3 cloves garlic 

1-2 tbs olive oil

1 cup brown rice

Nothing fancy but easy and yummy!  I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and a little bit of cayenne then added it to the pan with my sautéed veggies and just let it simmer with the veggies until it was cooked through.  While the chicken and veggies were simmering I cooked the brown rice then served myself the chicken and veggies over the rice. There was enough for 3 maybe 4 meals! 

 

I haven’t been great this week, but I’ve been better since Saturday.  I hope you all enjoy my recipes and feel free to share any that you have! 🙂

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

