Weekend Update

Today I am joining in on running’n’reading’s Weekend Update!

On Friday I was able to see the rest of my clients for the week and get my notes in before 5!  Which was great since I was meeting a date for a run at 6:30!  I have to say that I thought going on a run for a first date was an awesome idea!  And with the guy being a dud, in my opinion, it was great that it was a running date!  He got there early and saw that there was a 2 mile race going on so he signed up and I met him at the finish line.  As we walked to get his race results I quickly realized that he was not my type!  One of my best friends mentioned that I made a quick assessment and I reminded him that I assess people for a living so it doesn’t take me too long 🙂  So since I could immediately tell that this was someone that I would not want to spend an hour and a half talking to I suggested that since he runs at a much faster pace than me he should feel free to run at his own pace and not be held back by me!

My usual running routes are either Audubon Park or a loop along St. Charles and Magazine.  For this run we met at the levee along Lake Pontchartrain.  Before this run I had never done more than 4-5 miles and for this run I did a full 10k!  I definitely took some walking breaks (as my training program dictates) and enjoyed the beautiful sunset on the lake!

IMG_0691

IMG_0689

IMG_0690

It really was a great run!  And I was so proud of myself at the end!

On Saturday I planned to wake up early and hit the gym for some cross training on the bike but I didn’t wake up in time and ended up running late for my other plans for the day too!  I decided a while back that I would do the Red Dress Run for the first time this year.  This was my sister’s 3rd year to do it and she’s been on me to do it since she started!  I will be honest and say that we do not do the run aspect of the run and after my first 6.1 the night before I made sure she knew that I would not even pretend to run on Saturday!  Here are some pictures from Red Dress…

IMG_0757

I am clearly excited to be with my awesome sister!

IMG_0727

Melissa and Raffa in their awesome dresses!

IMG_0759

The whole gang

IMG_0742

I was violated! 🙂

IMG_0760

After a long day hot August day in NOLA!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!  I sadly am going to take a few days off from running 😦  I have had a nagging sore right calf for the past few weeks.  From what I can tell it is just from being a new runner and my calf not being used to all of the running.  I’ve been foam rolling and what not but it’s still being a bit of a nag so I’ve decided to give it a few days to rest after doing 6.1 miles on Friday.  Hoping that I’ll be able to get back out there on Wednesday with no problems!  Let me know if you have any tips! 🙂

Standard

6 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. I’m so happy you linked up today, and happy to have found your blog, Stephanie! I think taking a little break to let your body heal is a great idea; I also have lots of experience with foam rolling, and a friend (also a physical therapist) advised me that I should use icing in addition to my foam rolling. Not sure whether it would help with your situation, but I thought I would pass it along. I LOVE the Red Dress Run – how fun!! That looks amazing! Also, I have to admit that I was cracking up as I envisioned you with the “dud” who signed up for a race before your running date…hilarious. Hope you have a great week, and rest up!

    Like

  2. When I ran Rock N Roll NOLA this past February I heard about the Red Dress Run! That looks like so much fun! I’m sorry you’ve been having some calf issues. I hope some rest does it some good! Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

