From Couch To Marathon In 8 Months!

IMG_0623

Hello Everyone! I hate the first post of a blog because I never know what to say or what not so I’m just going to start with a little recap of what I’ve been doing over the past couple of months!

For years now I’ve wanted to get to a place where I truly enjoy running, but I never gave it a real chance. Then a little over two years ago I decided that I wanted to run a marathon by the time I turned 30. I figured I had 3 years and would definitely be able to do that! Then about two months after making that decision my life was turned upside down when I was suddenly in the middle of a divorce, graduate school and grieving the sudden loss of my father. Needless to say my running did not take off!

Then about 2 1/2 months ago a co worker and I decided to do Couch25K together. In know time at all I LOVED getting out there and running! Then I remembered my promise to myself to run a marathon by age 30. I decided just for fun to look into what it would take for me to be able to run a marathon within the next year. I found a great marathon training program for beginners and decided to do it! I signed up for my first Marathon that is set to happen on January 25th!

My plan at this point is to train my body for the marathon training. I completed Couch25k and am continuing on with Couch210k. In 2 1/2 months my wardrobe has slowly been taken over my running clothes, my laundry consists of sports bras and socks more than anything else. I find myself setting up wish lists on brooks running.com. I have fallen in love with my Brooks Ghost 7’s (I previously ran in the Ghost 5’s and LOVED them as well!) and my foam roller.

I am not doing this blog for people to learn anything from me, I am a novice and do not know what I am doing other than just reading as much as I can from veteran runners and magazines and figuring out what works for me. The point of this blog is for me to keep track of my progress and if anyone gets anything from my experience that is just a wonderful bonus! 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

